How to Share a Folder in your Mailbox with another User

Outlook
You may sometimes have a need to share a particular folder in your mailbox with another person in your organisation, without wanting to share your entire mailbox.

As a general rule, this is not necessarily the best approach, especially for long term sharing. Dedicated Shared Mailboxes are a better long-term approach for accessing shared content and emails. For example, if the person who shares the folder leaves the organisation, that mailbox might be deleted and along with it the shared folder. A dedicated shared mailbox – e.g. Accounts – is better because it has a specific purpose and allows emails to easily be shared and accessed by multiple people.

Tracking sharing of individual folders within a mailbox is also more challenging than tracking sharing of a whole mailbox, and you should keep a record of what you share and who with, and remove that sharing when no longer required.

However, if you have a short term requirement, it’s quite straight forward to accomplish. There are 3 steps you and your colleague need to go through in order to give permission over a folder and for them to gain access.

Share the Folder

First we need to share the folder itself. Right Click on the folder and choose Properties

Right click the folder you want to share and choose Properties
Right click the folder you want to share and choose Properties

Under Permissions, Add the user you want to have access. Then, set the permissions

  • Read: Full Details
  • Other: Folder Visible

Leave the other permissions as default (unless you want to give more than Read access)

Set permissions 1) Read: Full Details, and 2) Other: Folder Visible
Set permissions 1) Read: Full Details, and 2) Other: Folder Visible

Share the Inbox

Next, we need to share your Inbox in such a way that makes it visible, but not the contents. This is required because, in order to get to the folder you want, the person you are sharing with needs to also have access to the folders above it.

If the folder is several folders deep, you will have to do this step on all the folders above the one you are sharing.

Right click your Inbox and select Properties

Right click the Inbox and choose Properties
Right click the Inbox and choose Properties

This time, go to Permissions and add the same user, but set the permissions this time as:

  • Read: None
  • Other: Folder Visible

Leave all the other permissions as default.

Set permissions 1) Read: None, and 2) Other: Folder Visible
Set permissions 1) Read: None, and 2) Other: Folder Visible

Accessing the shared folder

the colleague you have shared the folder with needs to add this to Outlook manually. It will not appear automatically.

In Outlook, go to File > Account Settings > Account Settings

Go to File > Account Settings
Go to File > Account Settings

Go to Change > More Settings > Advanced > Add

Type the name of the person who has shared the folder with you, then click OK to get back to the main Outlook window.

Go to Change > More Settings > Add and type the name of the person who shared the folder with you
Go to Change > More Settings > Add and type the name of the person who shared the folder with you

Note that it may take a little while before the permissions have applied. Once they have you should see the mailbox, but only access the folder that was specifically shared.

Only the folder you specified is visible
Only the folder you specified is visible

Like this article?

Share on twitter
Share on Twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on LinkedIn
Share on email
Share by Email

Subscribe to our monthly newsletter

Get the best IT tips and Office ideas in your inbox

Further reading

Chapter 3: DNS and Domains

In this excerpt from Ciaran’s upcoming White Paper ‘The Mail Must Get Through’ on email deliverability, we examine one of the core underlying features of the internet, DNS and Domains.

Read More »

How To Selectively Sync Folders In OneDrive And SharePoint

Syncing your OneDrive and SharePoint content to your PC is a useful way of accessing your data in the familiar Windows Explorer (or Mac Finder) view. It’s also a great way to work on items offline as you can sync in advance of travelling. But, there is a cost in terms of the background processing, especially if you have a large number of items in your OneDrive or SharePoint libraries.

Read More »
Scroll to Top